I’m going to be published!

Standard

I sold my first short story!

I’m used to getting turned down; every writer is. That’s a feeling I’m used to and maybe even expect. That I can handle.

The excitement of actually hearing “yes” was something I was totally unprepared for.

The funny thing is, I really didn’t think much of this story. My friends run Crossed Genres magazine, a super cool literary mag that gives you a different theme every month and you have to combine that with some element of science fiction or fantasy in your story.

Since one of my New Year’s resolutions was to write more, I decided to use Crossed Genres as a way to motivate myself to write. I’d write a story a month based on their themes, and submit the good ones.

Funny enough, up until the January 31st deadline, I hadn’t thought my story for the ‘Food’ theme was one of the ‘good ones’. I mean, it was cute, but re-reading through it, I found a bunch of stuff I could do better. I didn’t have enough description of my characters’ apartment. I didn’t set the backstory well enough. It was a silly concept.

What was I thinking?

I’m sure you writers are nodding your heads right now. See what we do? We’ll reject a story ourselves before we even give anyone else a chance to.

But for some unknown reason, I wrapped it up, flaws and all and hit ‘submit.’ Then I forgot about it.

Until yesterday.

It turns out, they loved my little story, and they’re going to publish it in their May issue. It’s my first paid story.

Lesson learned: You just write the story. Leave the rejection to someone else.

I’ll keep you updated on the process of getting ‘Feed the Bird’ into print here in the blog. Keep checking back!

Leave a Reply

